MAN OR ASTROMAN? : Live At Third Man Records
Album Live At Third Man Records
Format Vinyl 12'' LP
Label Third Man
Year 2017
Genre Instro, Neo-surf, Rock n Roll, Garage, Space Rock

MAN OR ASTROMAN? : Live At Third Man Records

The mysterious collective known as Man or Astro-Man? hail from the lowdown depths of Alabama, though their sound is hardly Southern, or American, or even terrestrial.
Having released music throughout the ’90s and ’00s on garage punk stronghold Estrus Records as well as the legendary Touch and Go Records, they have wasted no time earning their places as mainstays in the American rock underground.
Although they’ve released 10 full-lengths to date, chronicling quasar-hoppingquests and intergalactic misadventure in every direction, the centerpiece of their tenure will always be the band as they are on stage, frenetic, focused and swaddled in literal lightning from a homemade Tesla tower.
Naturally, when the fine folks at Third Man Records began planning festivities for Record Store Day 2016, they could not help but indulge in the surf madness of Man or Astro Man?
No doubt a signal of things to come—namely the first vinyl record played in space. The result is a retro-futurist surf riff bombast. The career-spanning set (which did include a Tesla tower and, ultimately, a charred drum set— yikes!) was a thermonuclear drag race and a welcome addition to a world-class live series.
Although there’s never a perfect substitute for being in the room when an artist owns the stage, Third Man Records continues to bottle the iridescent magic of the Blue Room with Man…Or Astro-Man? Live.
Standard black vinyl edition. Recorded live to acetate at Third Man Records Nashville, TN on 04-16-2016.
Tracks listed sequentially on jacket and center labels. Catalog number written as TMR-381 on spine and as TMR 381 on center labels.

Tracklist :

Side A :
01. Inside The Atom
02. Evil Plans of Planet Spectra
03. Antimatter Man
04. Put Your Finger In The Socket
05. Planet Collision
06. Transmissions From Venus
07. 9-Volt
08. Codebreaker 78
09. Sferic Waves
Side B:
01. Defcon 5
02. Television Fission
03. Maximum Radiation Level
04. Destination Venus
05. Secret Agent Conrad Uno
06. Principles Unknown


Rockin' merchandise :

Stay Updated :

Newsletter :

© 2017 Drunkabilly records | Running strong since 1988
All prices are VAT included, shipping costs excluded.